Home > Uncategorized > “The Return of Jezebel James”- Quick and Dirty

“The Return of Jezebel James”- Quick and Dirty

When I heard the Parker Posey was doing a television series I needed to hear no more. I didn’t even get to the part where the words “sitcom” and “Fox” were used. All I registered was Posey and co-star Lauren Ambrose (who gained fame on Six Feet Under, another brilliant series I haven’t checked out yet). So I finally sat down and watched the episode on the Fox website…

parker-ambrose1.jpg

what a terrible disappointment. I’m so disappointed I can’t think of any other way to list my greivances than in a bullet point list.

The Good

  • Parker Posey soldifying my faith in her ability to perform tragic comedy brilliantly

The Bad

  • The laugh track- I’m sorry I forgot we were in the early 90’s (Interesting fact: Because Fran Drescher was raped in her early 20’s and afraid once her fame rose of potentially being stalked by a member of her live studio audience the studio actually hired extras as laughers. Thanks Radiolab!). Lines that would otherwise be deliverable come off as awkard not just because there is a laugh track but, more importantly, because you can tell they’re using one.
  • The gross lighting – I’m pretty convinced the sitcom is a dead tv format and have been waiting for someone to do it a different way. Outside of Scrubs and Arrested Development it looks like I can’t turn to “The Return of Jezebel James.”
  • Where Have All the Gilmores Gone- This sitcom is produced and written by Amy Sherman (creator and writer of The Gilmore Girls) and despite is WB (sorry CW) lameness the show was packed with one liners that struck like bullets. What happened Amy? What happened?
  • Parker Posey in a sitcom- We know I think this woman is brilliant but her stage is definitely not meant to be the tv sitcom. Her quirkiness (yes I hate that word) is meant strictly for film or the every once in a while comedic play. She’s got the qualities of a slightly coke addicted fashionista that can only be put to good use in every other format but the sitcom. I doubt that kind of television can flatter anyone’s talent these day. I ask you picture Jason Schwartzman on Full House. Doesn’t it make you feel weird?!
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. April 9, 2008 at 4:25 PM

    Parker Posey’s career has gone down hill since Party Girl, come on now, let’s not act surprised.

  2. April 9, 2008 at 4:29 PM

    Possibly true but I don’t think the sitcom format utilizes anyone’s talents very well.

  3. April 9, 2008 at 7:46 PM

    She’s a one trick pony that people happen to like, just like how people like Jack Nicholson because he’s always THAT character. Tell me the difference between Posey Parker in Josie and the Pussycats, Superman Returns, Will & Grace and uhmmm… that French one, Broken English. There isn’t any.

  4. April 9, 2008 at 7:57 PM

    Not disagreeing but overall my point is about how dead the sitcom is and how the tools themselves are part of a one trick pony act that recycles the same methods over and over again to elicit comedy.

  5. April 9, 2008 at 8:04 PM

    Good times

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

