Home > Uncategorized > Movie adaptations I’m weary of.

Movie adaptations I’m weary of.

I’m probably a little late to the table on this one but apparently a couple of my favorite anime films are being adapted into live action movies

1. Akira- Warner Bros. is set to release the first of two live action films during the summer of ’09. Leonardo Dicarprio is one of the producers and it will be directed by Ruairi Robinson. The adaptation is supposed to be closer to the manga that animated feature. I am ashamed to say that I have never read the manga but I can’t anticipate that the film will be able to cover everything even if it did follow the feature instead.

2. Ghost in the Shell- Steven Spielberg is behind this project. Not sure if he’s directing or just producing but either way I’m a little concerned since his films tend to be very kid-friendly (read: non-violent) and the animated feature shows a guy getting his brain blown apart (quite literally) in the first five minutes. My fear is that there may be a down play of the philosophical struggle for the main character, Major Motoko Kusanagi.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

