Home > Uncategorized > After Sex- Quick & Dirty?

After Sex- Quick & Dirty?

A youtube clip from a friend brought me to this movie.  The email subject was “Sweet” and the the body consisted of the following:

Clip from “After Sex”
Mila Kunis and Zoe Saldana

I was intrigued.  The scene was a  mixture of stories following the sex lives of different “couples” and how they discuss sex/love.  Okay, interesting idea so far.

I immediately bypassed “Coming under Fire” and “History Lessons” on my netflix queue to get the movie here the next day. I popped in the dvd player and let ‘er go.

But alas, the beer I drank couldn’t do anything to distract the “eh” feeling I had watching the movie.

The movie is Eric Amadio’s first feature and I hate to say it but it shows.

Bad points:

  • The predictable and cliche dialogue about the divide between the sexes.
  • Causing  the  feeling of watching a bad high school play

The good:

  • Mila Kunis and her dirty mouth, and her dirty skirt and her dirty tank top and well you get the point.

  • Zoe Saldana and well Zoe Saldana… and Mila Kunis.

  • The gay couple that consisted of a skinny metal band rocker and high school football coach arguing about who has to be the bitch in the relationship

The movie felt more like a collection of short films that the judges were too consistent with in theme.  They may have stood up well on their own as singular films but together they seemed drab.

P.S. Zoe Saldana is starring as Leiutenant Uhura in the remake of the Star Trek movie based on the television series. I don’t really know how I feel about this since I’m generally against all remakes.  Right now, I’m pretty convinced it will suck but I’m also pretty certain that me and about blank* fans will be in line to see it.

*Note: I lazily tried to find a statistic on how many star trek fans there are and my computer promptly set aflame before my very eyes.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Nikki
    August 7, 2008 at 9:42 PM

    If you marginally liked ‘after Sex’ you should watch ‘young people fucking’, it has the same concept but done better and its a lot funnier 🙂 It was a hit at the Toronto Film festival

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0913445/

  2. LadyoftheLair
    August 14, 2008 at 11:01 PM

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the rocker boy and football coach couple. So 80’s, So Chicago (the city). The whole “Bitch = Bottom” thang was unPC but honest and relevant. The story was a little pat. But, HELLO! to gay guys talking about who’s the bottom and what that means in their relationship. Um, “PROCESSING” about sex and NOT homophobia or money or CHILDREN. I’d pay $10. just to see that (Plus Mila and Zoe) And again I say “SWEET”. Didn’t bother with the straight folks (not cuz I don’t care but just cuz, well, the ubiquity, oh the ubiquity)

  3. August 21, 2008 at 10:40 PM

    Added to the netflix queue. Thanks for the recommendation.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

