Home > Fun fun fun, Television & Film > Cutting out The Middleman

Cutting out The Middleman

So I have a paradoxical problem with T.V Shows.  The ones I like tend to get canceled.  This started back in the 90’s (Kindred The Embraced, Arrested Development, Firefly, Carnivale etc…).  Also with the advent on online video and a work schedule that can’t mean incredibly long hours at times, I don’t necessarily watch T.V on…well T.V.

This often leads to me missing entire seasons and deciding to wait until a show ends to watch the entire series non-stop  in my room clinging a bottle of red wine (Battlestar Galactica for example).  This method is flawed since a lot of time the shows I want to watch get terminated early.

Such is the case with The Middleman.  I’ve read tons of reviews about how amazingly underrated this show is/was (?) and decided to finally watch the pilot episode yesterday.  I’ve also been seeing vague rumors about the show being canceled over the last few days and having seen the pilot must now do everything in my power to stop that from happening.

The plot is “a struggling female artist is recruited by a secret agency to fight against evil forces.” Natalie Morales plays the struggling artist, Wendy Watson, but she’s oh so much more than that.  She’s a gamer, self-proclaimed nerd and a smart-ass. Those are pretty much my date requirements  on my non-existent online dating profile.

nat

Her boss is played by Matt Keeslar who recently made an appearance on Dollhouse as a guy who’s really into hunting…people.

According to some sources, there is a very slight chance that the show may not be canceled depending on how DVD sales do (i.e Family Guy) when the first season is released in July.  This would not be the first time I blindly buy a DVD series without having seen more than the first episode (i.e Hex and The Prisoner) and really the only thing stopping me is that it isn’t out yet.

Please oh please check out this show.  You can even watch the episodes on the family Channel’s official website.  Unfortunately, the pilot doesn’t seem to be there but you cool internet kids can find it in a “borrowed” format I’m sure.

Come on!  Look at how cute she they are.

normal_middleman_leads1

  1. Menzie
    February 27, 2009 at 5:04 PM

    I have the same issue with TV shows, which is why I’m now trying to catch up on Lost, Heroes, Chuck, and Battlestar Galactica’s most recent seasons. I’m getting better about keeping up, but I still watch less TV on actual TV. Perhaps that’s a bad thing, because far too many good shows do get canceled to soon

    So far as Middleman goes, I really can’t agree with you there. The concept it is pretty good, and I tried to give the show a chance when it first came out. I watched the first 3 episodes and I could just not get into it. I can’t put my finger on it but the show just didn’t click for me. Maybe it was the characters seem more like stereotypes than archetypes. Maybe it’s that the design aesthetic is more often over lit sitcom than comedy drama, and I always have issue with that. But the story felt a bit forced to me. Maybe I’ve missed some great pick up in the story line, but it all seemed episodic, disconnected and often forced. Not a bad show, but I don’t see many merits to it either.

  2. The humans are dead
    February 27, 2009 at 5:19 PM

    Yeah I see what you mean but I think the way it’s set up appealed to me as more quirky and interesting. I also have only watched the first episode. I’ll keep going and see what happens. It might just be about the nerdy girl in a suit.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

