Home > Science & Technology, Television & Film > Quick and Dirty: Avatar

Quick and Dirty: Avatar

The Good:

3-dimensional picture.

I’m all set and ready to give Cameron a million awards for making a 3d spectacle.  In fact, the only thing that impressed me was his attempt to create a whole world unto itself even though I could think of a few things that could have influenced the environment.

Exhibit A:

Now after he freaked out and shit his pants like I did when I realized what’s in our oceans Cameron must have thought I’ll put this in a movie one day about blue cat people.

And I suppose he did take the time to create a language for the Navi to speak.  I’m sure some weirdo will be teaching his three year old navi in 20 years like this Soh ghaj!

He did spend something like 10 years waiting to get this made at the right time so I guess he should get credit for that but in those 10 years you would think he would have spent more than approximately four months on the script.

The bad:

1-dimensional characters and story.

“When his brother is killed in a robbery, paraplegic Marine Jake Sully decides to take his place in a mission on the distant world of Pandora. There he learns of greedy corporate figurehead Parker Selfridge’s intentions of driving off the native humanoid “Na’vi” in order to mine for the precious material scattered throughout their rich woodland. In exchange for the spinal surgery that will fix his legs, Jake gathers intel for the cooperating military unit spearheaded by gung-ho Colonel Quaritch, while simultaneously attempting to infiltrate the Na’vi people with the use of an “avatar” identity. While Jake begins to bond with the native tribe and quickly falls in love with the beautiful alien Neytiri, the restless Colonel moves forward with his ruthless extermination tactics, forcing the soldier to take a stand – and fight back in an epic battle for the fate of Pandora.” –imdb

Now I was never expecting to be blown away by the story but I also wasn’t expecting to be so bored by my ability to predict every little thing that happen and I expected to care ,at least a little, about the characters.

The bad guys are so unwavering in their evil and are portrayed generally as “Love it or leave it” military types that its painfully obvious.

And the poor Na’vi are so good-natured and naive  and helpless that it’s like watching this:

And I’m not the only one that thinks so.

This guy is pretty extensive and made himself famous by doing a 70 minute review of the Star Wars: The Phantom Menace.

Here are his thoughts on Avatar.

Considering all that:  The 3d didn’t add that much for me in the.  Yes it was timely and “on edge”  but in 5 years sfx and video will be a million times better and all people will be able to say is that Avatar’s 3d visuals were cool.  The story will never really be memorable.

Alright. Alright I’m done bashing.  Here’s an appreciative video for the people who liked it.

  1. Jimmy!
    February 5, 2010 at 12:51 AM

    Yeah, I agree! The story totally sucked! I realized it the 2nd time I watched it. I fell asleep during parts of the 2nd half cause my stupid friend (who I am very fond of) decided to sit in the very last row of a very long theater thereby limiting the 3D effect.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

